Brief History of the Department

Established in the early 1950’s, The Department of Political Science at the Hebrew University was the first department of Political Science in Israel with a focus on research, teaching, and academic training of graduate students. Since its founding the department has been a global leader in the field.

The department’s faculty and research cover an array of political phenomena such as institutions, governance, policy, theory, behavior and much more. We teach these subjects with a focus on the politics and government of the State of Israel. Our department combines academic research with political involvement, taking advantage of our presence in the political capital of Israel - Jerusalem.

Our students constitute the future of political research and political practice, both in Israel and abroad. The undergraduate program of studies takes a research-based approach, deepening students’ understanding of politics within both the academic and political arenas. The department also offers several graduate-level (MA) degree programs, with options for specialization in Democracy & Politics in Israel, International Relations, Political Thought, Political Communication, and Law, Government & Society. Doctoral students in the department typically specialize in the aforementioned sub-fields. Our PhD candidates benefit from the highest level of instruction and supervision in Israel, with the top students earning fellowships in a fast-track program.

Our academic faculty includes graduates of the best universities in the world. Our faculty is also deeply involved in contemporary politics in Israel. Graduates of our department go on to hold political positions in Israel and abroad. Our graduates also work in the fields of diplomacy, public relations, public management, civil society NGO’s, research think tanks, journalism and of course – the academic study of politics. Included among our graduates are current and former government ministers, Members of Knesset, former Speakers of the Knesset, Israeli ambassadors, journalists, Director Generals of Government Ministries, employees of the Prime Minister's Office, the Bank of Israel, and more.